A Cambridge City Council website

Cambridge City Council

Council and democracy

Home > Council and Democracy > Agenda and decisions

Agenda and decisions

Venue: Council Chamber, The Guildhall, Market Square, Cambridge, CB2 3QJ [access the building via Peashill entrance]. View directions

Contact: Democratic Services  Committee Manager


No. Item




Declarations of Interest


Minutes pdf icon PDF 238 KB


Public Questions pdf icon PDF 104 KB


Governance Review Proposals pdf icon PDF 577 KB

Report to follow


Resolved (4 votes for, 2 votes against, 0 abstentions) to recommend to Council:


a.    That the Council design and implement a revised ‘Leader and Cabinet’ model of decision making and authorises the Chief Executive to enable changes to be implemented from the Annual Council Meeting in May 2025

b.    To establish a member-officer design group with external technical support to develop a revised 'Leader and Cabinet' model with final proposals including an updated constitution being presented to the Civic Affairs Committee and then to full Council for adoption.



Honorary Freedom of the City pdf icon PDF 235 KB

Report to follow


Resolved (Unanimous) to recommend to Council:


a.    To confer the Honorary Freedom of the City of Cambridge upon HMS Protector. (Nb. Granting the Freedom of the City will require at least two thirds of the Councillors present to agree to the recommendation).



Committee Appointments and Constitutional Changes for Annual Council pdf icon PDF 252 KB

Additional documents:


Resolved: (unanimously) to recommend to Council:


i.               Appointments to city council committees and joint partner bodies below:


Environment and Communities Scrutiny Committee 8 (5 Labour + 2 Lib Dem + 1 Green)


Pounds, Nestor, Swift, Divkovic, TBC


Payne, Hauk




Alternates – Griffin, Sheil, Martinelli, Flaubert, Tong


Planning and Transport Scrutiny Committee 8 (5 Labour + 2 Lib Dem + 1 Green)


Nestor, Baigent, Swift, Griffin, Divkovic


Porrer, Bick




Alternates – Pounds, Todd-Jones, Lee, Lokhmotova, Bennett


Housing Scrutiny Committee 9 (6 Labour + 2 Lib Dem + 1 Green)


Griffin, Robertson, Gawthrope Wood, Baigent, Swift, Thittala


Martinelli, Lee




Alternates: Nestor, Pounds, Young, Porrer, Bennett


Strategy and Resources Scrutiny Committee 8 (5 Labour + 2 Lib Dem + 1 Green)


Robertson, Gawthrope Wood, Sheil, Baigent, Todd-Jones


Bick, Young




Alternates – Lab TBC, Lab TBC, Porrer, Martinelli, Clough


Civic Affairs Committee 6 (4 Labour + 1 Lib Dem +1 Green)


McPherson, Gawthrope Wood, Sheil, Robertson






Alternate – Holloway, Bick, Clough


Employment (Senior Officer) Committee 6 (4 Labour + 1 Lib Dem + 1 Green)


Davey, Carling, Gilderdale, Moore






Alternates: Labour TBC, Porrer, Clough


Licensing Committee 10 (6 Labour + 3 Lib Dem + 1 Green)


McPherson, Bird, Moore, Griffin, Pounds, Wade


Blackburn-Horgan, Young, Lib Dem TBC




Alternates – Davey, Lib Dem TBC, Bennett


Planning Committee 9 (6 Labour + 2 Lib Dem + 1 Green)


Smart, Baigent, Thornburrow, Gilderdale, Carling, Dryden


Porrer, Lokhmotova




Alternates – Nestor, Todd-Jones, Flaubert, Young, Howard


Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority - 1 seat




Alternate - Davey


Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority Overview and Scrutiny Committee 2 Labour


Lab TBC, Lab TBC


Alternate – Lab TBC


Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Audit and Governance Committee 1 Labour + one alternate




Alternate – Lab TBC


Greater Cambridge Partnership Joint Assembly 3 (2 Labour + 1 Lib Dem)


S.Smith, Thornburrow, Bick


Joint Development Control Committee - Cambridge Fringes 6 (4 Labour+ 2 Lib Dem)


S.Smith, Baigent, Smart, Thornburrow


Porrer, Flaubert,


Alternates – Gilderdale, Nestor, Young, Lokhmotova


Cambridge Joint Area Committee 6 (4 Labour + 1 Lib Dem + 1 Green)


Thornburrow, Robertson, Baigent, Moore






Alternates – Carling, Lab TBC, Martinelli, Tong


ii.             Nominations for Chairs and Vice-Chairs 2024/25


Environment and Communities Services

Chair - Pounds

Vice-Chair – Nestor


Planning and Transport

Chair – Nestor

Vice-Chair – Baigent



Chair – Griffin

Vice-Chair (nb. Tenant/Leaseholder is Chair of Part 1 of the meeting) - Robertson


Strategy and Resources

Chair – Robertson

Vice-Chair – Gawthrope Wood


Civic Affairs

Chair - McPherson

Vice-Chair – Gawthrope Wood



Chair - McPherson

Vice-Chair - Bird



Chair - Smart

Vice-Chair (Labour) – Baigent

Vice-Chair (Lib Dem) - Porrer



Chair – S.Smith