A Cambridge City Council website

Cambridge City Council

Council and democracy

Home > Council and Democracy > Agenda and minutes

Agenda and minutes

Venue: Council Chamber, The Guildhall, Market Square, Cambridge, CB2 3QJ [access the building via Peashill entrance]. View directions

Contact: Democratic Services  Committee Manager


No. Item




No apologies were received.


Declarations of Interest


No interests were declared.


Minutes pdf icon PDF 411 KB


The minutes of the meetings held on 8 February 2023 were approved as a correct record and signed by the Chair.



Public Questions


There were no public questions.


Committee Appointments and Constitutional Changes for Annual Council pdf icon PDF 152 KB

Additional documents:


The report detailed the issues to consider following the local elections on 4 May 2023 and make recommendations to the Annual Meeting of the Council on 25 May 2023.  The Democratic Services Manager advised that an updated paper which was circulated at the meeting confirmed the size of committees and known appointments, further information would be provided at the Annual Meeting.


Resolved (unanimously):


i.    To recommend to Council the appointments to city council committees and joint partner bodies below:


Environment and Communities Scrutiny Committee 8 (5 Labour + 2 Lib Dem + 1 Green and Independent)


Divkovic, Nestor, Swift, Wade, Pounds


Payne, Hauk 




Alternates – Sheil, Griffin, Flaubert, Levien, Howard


Planning and Transport Scrutiny Committee 8 (5 Labour + 2 Lib Dem + 1 Green and Independent)


Nestor, Baigent, Swift, TBC, TBC


Porrer, Bick




Alternates – Griffin, Lab TBC, Lee, Payne, Glasberg


Housing Scrutiny Committee 9 (6 Labour + 2 Lib Dem + 1 Green and Independent)


Pounds, Robertson, Thittala-Varkey, Wade, Holloway, Griffin


Martinelli, Lee




Alternates: Swift, Lab TBC, Howard, Porrer, Levien


Strategy and Resources Scrutiny Committee 8 (5 Labour + 2 Lib Dem + 1 Green and Independent)


Robertson, Baigent, Holloway, Gawthrope Wood, TBC


Bick, Young




Alternates – Divkovic, Sheil, Payne, Nethsingha, Davies


Civic Affairs Committee 6 (4 Labour + 1 Lib Dem +1 Green & Independent)


McPherson, Davey, Sheil, Healy






Alternate – Moore, Davies, Bick


Employment (Senior Officer) Committee 6 (4 Labour +2 Lib Dem)


Healy, Moore, Davey, Carling


Bick, Porrer


Alternates: TBC


Licensing Committee 10 (7 Labour + 2 Lib Dem + 1 Green and Independent)


McPherson, Bird, Moore, Griffin, Carling, Pounds, Wade


Levien, Nethsingha




Alternates – Davey, Hauk, Tong


Planning Committee 9 (6 Labour + 2 Lib Dem + 1 Green and Independent)


Smart, Baigent, Thornburrow, Carling, S.Smith, Dryden


Porrer, Levien




Alternates – Gilderdale, Nestor, Flaubert, Nethsingha, Howard


Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority - 1 seat



Alternate - TBC


Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority Overview and Scrutiny Committee 2 Labour



Alternates – Gawthrope Wood


Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Audit and Governance Committee 1 Labour + one alternate



Alternate – Pounds


Greater Cambridge Partnership Joint Assembly 3 (2 Labour + 1 Lib Dem)


S.Smith, Thornburrow, Bick


Joint Development Control Committee - Cambridge Fringes 6 (4 Labour+ 2 Lib Dem)


S.Smith, Baigent, Smart, Thornburrow


Porrer, Flaubert


Alternates – Gilderdale, Nestor, Levien, Nethsingha


ii.  To recommend to Council the nominations for Chairs and Vice-Chairs 2023/24

Environment and Communities Services

Chair - Divkovic

Vice-chair – Nestor


Planning and Transport

Chair – Nestor

Vice-chair – Baigent



Chair – Pounds

Vice-chair (nb. Tenant/Leaseholder is Chair of Part 1 of the meeting) - Robertson


Strategy and Resources


Vice-chair - Baigent


Civic Affairs

Chair - McPherson

Vice-chair - Davey



Chair - McPherson

Vice-chair - Bird



Chair - Smart

Vice-chair – Baigent



Vice-Chair – S.Smith


iii.            No constitutional updates were required.

iv.           To note that a Governance Reference Group would meet informally and make recommendations on Terms of Reference for Civic Affairs Committee to agree at the 5 July 2023 meeting.

v.             To recommend to Council the appointment of former Councillors Rod Cantrill, Lewis Herbert, George Pippas, Amanda Taylor, Damien Tunnacliffe as Honorary Councillors.

vi.           To note the intention to re-establish a Cambridge Joint Area Committee with the County Council.