CIVIC AFFAIRS

18 May 2015 6.00 - 6.20 pm

Present: Councillors McPherson (Chair), Benstead (Vice-Chair), Cantrill, Pitt, Hart and Robertson

Officers Present:

Chief Executive: Antoinette Jackson Head of Legal Services: Simon Pugh Committee Manager: Toni Birkin

FOR THE INFORMATION OF THE COUNCIL

15/21/CIV Apologies for Absence

Apologies were received from Sean Brady (Independent Person) and Rob Bennett (Deputy Independent Person).

15/22/CIV Declarations of Interest

No interests were declared.

15/23/CIV Minutes of Previous Meeting

The minute of the meeting held on the 18th March 2015 were agreed and signed as a correct record.

Councillor Hart requested that her previous comments regarding area committee allowances be noted and considered in any future review of the Members Allowance Scheme.

15/24/CIV Public Questions

There were no public questions.

15/25/CIV Constitution Updates

The committee received a report from the Head of Legal Services regarding proposed changes to the Executive portfolios and Scrutiny Committees.

Resolved (unanimously):

- I. To note the changes in Executive portfolios with responsibility for public health moving from the Executive Councillor for Environment, Waste and Public Health to the Executive Councillor for Community, Arts and Recreation as set out in Appendix 1 of the Officer's report.
- II. To recommend to Council the revised scrutiny arrangements set out in Appendix 2 of the Officer's report.

15/26/CIV Nominations For Committees For The Municipal Year 2015/16

The Committee considered a paper setting out the proposed Committee allocations by party and the nominations received. The Committee considered the rules on political balance set out in the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 in developing the recommendations set out below.

Councillor Pitt updated the Committee on the Liberal Democrat Group's nominations.

The Committee noted the Minorities Group nominations.

The Committee noted the Leaders approval of the following Councillors to the Executive. Opposition Spokes were also noted.

The Executive	Opposition Spokes
Leader & Exec Cllr for Strategy & Transformation – Lewis Herbert	Councillor Bick
Deputy Leader & Exec Cllr for City Centre & Public Places – Carina O'Reilly	Councillor Austin
Exec Cllr for Finance and Resources – George Owers	Councillor Bick
Exec Cllr for Housing – Kevin Price	Councillor Avery
Exec Cllr for Environment & Waste – Peter Roberts	Councillor Pitt
Exec Cllr for Planning Policy & Transport – Kevin Blencowe	Councillor C Smart
Exec Cllr for Communities — Richard Johnson	Councillor Reid

Councillor Cantrill was noted as the Opposition Spokes for Civic Affairs.

The Committee discussed the numbers and proportionately of Strategy and Resources Committee. The numbers would need to increase to 10 should Councillor Hipkin take up the seat Minorities Group were entitled to with the Liberal Democrats numbers staying at 3. The Head of Legal Services reminded the Committee that Council could agree to Committee size that did not meet proportionality requirements if all Groups agreed to this.

Post meeting notes: Councillor Hipkin confirmed that he would like to take a place on the Strategy and Resources Committee.

Resolved (unanimously) to:

i. Recommend Council to agree to the number and size of committees and to note the nominations listed below

SCRUTINY COMMITTEES

COMMUNITY SERVICES	NOMINATION(S)	CURRENT NUMBERS (1) =Alternate	PROPOSED NAMES OF NOMINATIONS TO THE COMMITTEE
	Labour	5 (1)	Sinnott, Ratcliffe, Baigent, Sarris, Bird, Benstead (Alt)
	LD	3 (1)	Austin, Reid, O' Connell
		8 Total	Holt (Alt)

ENVIRONMENT	NOMINATION(S)	CURRENT NUMBERS (1) =Alternate	PROPOSED NAMES OF NOMINATIONS TO THE COMMITTEE
	Labour	6 (1)	Gawthrope, Perry, Ratcliffe, Robertson, M Smart, Baigent,
			Sarris (Alt)
	LD	3 (1)	C Smart, Pitt, Gehring
			Moore (Alt)
	Minorities	1 10 Total	Gillespie

HOUSING	NOMINATION(S)	CURRENT NUMBERS (1) =Alternate	PROPOSED NAMES OF NOMINATIONS TO THE COMMITTEE
	Labour	5 (1)	Todd-Jones. Baigent, Ashton, Bird, Sarris Gawthrope (Alt)
	LD	2 (1)	Avery, Moore Cantrill (Alt)
	Minorities	1 (1) 8 Total	Holland

STRATEGY & RESOURCES	NOMINATION(S)	CURRENT NUMBERS (1) =Alternate	PROPOSED NAMES OF NOMINATIONS TO THE COMMITTEE
	Labour	6 (1)	Robertson, Sinnott, Baigent, Benstead, M Smart, Sarris Abbott (Alt)
	LD	3 (1)	Bick, Holt, Cantrill C Smart (Alt)
	Minorities	1 10 Total	Hipkin

REGULATORY COMMITTEES

PLANNING	NOMINATIONS(S)	CURRENT NUMBERS (1) =Alternate	PROPOSED NAMES OF NOMINATIONS TO THE COMMITTEE
	Labour	4 (1)	Dryden, Blencowe, Gawtrope, Hart, Bird (Alt)
	LD	3 (1)	C Smart, Pippas, Tunnacliffe, Holt (Alt)
	Minorities	1 (1) 8 Total	Hipkin

JOINT DEVELOPMENT CONTROL COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	CURRENT NUMBERS (2)= Alternate	PROPOSED NAMES OF NOMINEES TO THE COMMITTEE
	Labour	4 (2)	Blencowe, Baigent, Bird, Price, Gawthrope (Alt) Herbert (Alt)
	LD	2 (2)	C Smart, Holt Moore (Alt)
		6 Total	

LICENSING	NOMINATIONS	CURRENT NUMBERS (1)= Alternate	PROPOSED NAMES OF NOMINEES TO THE COMMITTEE
	Labour	7 (1)	Benstead, Bird, Ratcliffe, Gawthrope, McPherson, O'Reilly, Owers Smith (Alt)
	LD	4 (1)	Pippas O' Connell, Bick, Austin Moore (Alt)
	Minorities	1 (1)	Meftah
		12 Total	

OTHER COMMITTEES

CIVIC AFFAIRS	NOMINATIONS	CURRENT NUMBERS (1)= Alternate	PROPOSED CHANGES AND NOMINATIONS
	Labour	4 (1)	McPherson, Benstead, Sinnott, Robertson Ratcliffe (Alt)
	LD	2 (1)	Holt, Cantrill Pitt (Alt)
		6 Total	

EMPLOYMENT APPEALS SUB	NOMINATIONS	CURRENT NUMBERS (1)= Alternate	PROPOSED CHANGES AND NOMINATIONS
EMPLOYMENT APPEALS SUB	Labour	5	Price, Gawthrope, Blencowe, Sarris, Bird
	LD	3	Smart, Holt, Moore
		8 Total	

COMMITTEE/SUB COMMITTEE	NOMINATIONS	CURRENT NUMBERS (1)= Alternate	PROPOSED CHANGES AND NOMINATIONS
JOINT AREA	Labour	4	Blencowe, Smith, Ratcliffe, Robertson
(with County Council)	/ LD	2 6 Total	C Smart, Tunnacliffe, (Alt Moore)

COMMITTEE/SU COMMITTEE	IB	NOMINATIONS	CURRENT NUMBERS (1)= Alternate	PROPOSED CHANGES AND NOMINATIONS
CITY ASSEMBLY	DEAL	Labour	2	Price Baigent
		LD	1	Bick

15/27/CIV Nominations For Chairs And Vice Chairs Of Scrutiny & Regulatory Committees

The Committee received nominations for Chairs and Vice Chairs of Scrutiny and Regulatory Committees.

Resolved (unanimously) to:

i. Note the nominations for Chairs and Vice Chairs of Scrutiny and Regulatory Committees as follows:

Committee	Labour Nominations		Liberal Democrat Nominations	
	Chair	Vice Chair	Chair	Vice
Community Services	Sinnott	Ratcliffe		
Environment	Gawthrope	Perry		
Housing	Todd-Jones	Baigent		
Strategy & Resources	Robertson	Sinnott		
Planning	Dryden	Blencowe		
Joint Development Control (City Lead)	Blencowe			
Licensing	Benstead	Bird		Pippas
Civic Affairs	McPherson	Benstead		
Employment Appeals Sub	Price			
Development Plan Scrutiny Committee	Sarris	Gawthrope		

15/28/CIV Nominations for Honorary Councillors

Resolved: (unanimously) to recommend to Council the appointment of the following former Councillors as Honorary Councillors

- Max Boyce
- Sheila Stuart
- Julie Smith

15/29/CIV Appointment of Independent Persons

Resolved (unanimously) to:

i. Recommend that Council confirm the continued appointment of Mr Sean Brady as the Council's Independent Person and Mr Robert Bennett as the Council's Deputy Independent Person.

The meeting ended at 6.20 pm

CHAIR